The name of the state is derived from the Namib desert which occupies the entire coastal region of the land. It was chosen at the time of independence as a neutral designation, so as not to offend any of the many peoples in Namibia.

The German-speaking residents still refer to "South West" in some instances, being a contraction of "South West Africa" (originally German South West Africa and, from 1919 to 1990, South West Africa) - a term evoking widely different associations with the inhabitants, depending on skin colour and political and historical background.

The entire national territory of Namibia covers more than double the size of Germany. Essentially, Namibia is characterized by two deserts: the Kalahari in the east and the Namib in the west, with the latter stretching from South Africa's Cape Province far into Angola. Between the two desert areas we find the interior highlands which rise to the 1 700m level around the capital of Windhoek, and in certain parts of the country even in excess of 2 000m.

Republic of Namibia Motto: Unity, Liberty, Justice
Official Language: English + 16 languages and dialects
Capital: Windhoek
Form of Government:

  • Republic, Democratic Constitution, Multiparty Parliament

  • Head of State: President Hage Geingob
    Head of Government: Prime Minister Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila
    Secular state - freedom of religion (87 % Christians)
    Size: 824 116 km2
    Population: 2.324.388 (2016)
    Population Density: 2.82 inhabitants per km2
    Currency: The Namibian Dollar is fixed to and equals the South African Rand